Manitoba Opera

Jul 27, 2022

Longtime Board Members Honored at AGM

Retiring board members, Leona Herzog and Dr. Bill Pope, were honored for their contributions to the company at the Annual General Meeting on Tuesday, July 12, at the Centennial Concert Hall. They each received a commemorative framed poster featuring program cover artwork from the seasons they sat on the Board of Trustees.  

With 12 years of total service, Leona is one of the 10 longest-serving trustees in the organization’s history. She sat on the board from 2005 to 2010 and again from 2015 to 2022. 

Leona was instrumental in the development of many community engagement initiatives, which have become a major pillar of the organization. Although she has retired from the board, she is currently still the chair the 50th Anniversary Committee and will continue to sit on the Community Engagement Committee this season.    

Dr. Pope was a board member in the 1990s and re-joined in 2014. Bill has deep roots with the organization as well and has been a long-time supporter of the organization. One of Manitoba Opera’s most ardent supporters, he introduced the art form to countless new patrons and served on the Special Events Committee, co-chaired The Gail Asper Award Committee (2021), and chaired the Governance Committee.  

Manitoba Opera is grateful to have counted Bill and Leona among our advocates and their leadership and guidance will be missed. 

Liz Miller, Annual Giving Manager, was also recognized with a five-year service plaque.


View Media Release