Manitoba Opera

Jul 27, 2023


The company announced at its 2022/23 Annual General Meeting (AGM), held both in person at the Centennial Concert Hall and livestreamed on Tuesday, July 11, that the year ending May 31, 2023 – the 50th season anniversary – was one of celebration, thanks, and a welcome return to two fully staged productions and a concert event with live audiences in attendance.  

“The 2022/23 season was a milestone season for Manitoba Opera, marking 50 years of making opera in our community,” said Larry Desrochers, General Director & CEO. “We used our anniversary season to celebrate the past, acknowledging the many wonderful productions and people in our history; to look to the future, marking the advancements of the art form; and to thank the community by acknowledging those who have gone above and beyond to turn a fledging enterprise into one of Canada’s most important regional opera companies.  

“We are deeply grateful to the opera community and all our supporters for their loyalty to Manitoba Opera as we recover from the ravages of the COVID-19 pandemic and continue our journey telling stories through music and song in the 21st century,” commented Judith Chambers, Chair, Board of Trustees. “This past season has indeed been one of celebration but has also provided us with an opportunity to mark the milestones we have made and look forward to the new milestones to come. Manitoba Opera is recognized as a pillar of the Winnipeg arts community and the opera community nationally and that reputation is one on which we want to build as we enter this next phase.”   

The 2023/24 Board of Trustees was also announced at the AGM. Members re-elected include Daniela Ignat, Maria Mitousis, Charlene Ord, Grant Suderman, and Lori Yorke. Returning trustees in mid-terms are Chair Judith Chambers, Flavia Fernandez Fabio, Dr. David Folk, Ray Karasevich, Lana Maidment, Terence Sakohianisaks Douglas, and Keith Sinclair. Nominated for the first year of a first two-year term were Sandy Chahal, Nupur Kumari, and John Pacak (see below for bios). 

After completing four full terms, Alex Robinson retired from the Board of Trustees. This was Robinson’s second round as a trustee, having previously served from 1998 to 2006. As well, Paul Bruch-Wiens stepped down; he joined the board in 2019. 

Bethany Bunko, Communications Coordinator, was also recognized with a five-years of service plaque.   

View Media Release